Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Jyothika and Abiram have a good time a double

Palakkad’s M. Jyothika won the senior girls’ 400m hurdles for her second gold of the Kerala State schools athletics championship at Kunnamkulam on Wednesday.

Palakkad’s M. Jyothika received the senior women’ 400m hurdles for her second gold of the Kerala State faculties athletics championship at Kunnamkulam on Wednesday.
| Picture Credit score: Ok.Ok. Najeeb

M. Jyothika, the golden lady amongst juniors eventually yr’s Kerala State faculties athletics championships, has moved easily to the senior grade. The 17-year-old from Palakkad’s Parli Faculty received the 400m hurdles, her second gold within the under-19 age group, within the championships’ 65 version on the Authorities Boys VHSS floor right here on Wednesday.

“The 400m hurdles is a tricky occasion however my favorite one too,” mentioned Jyothika, coached by the seasoned P.G. Manoj, who clocked a private finest time for the second consecutive day. She had received the 400m on Tuesday.

The victory additionally brushed away the bitter recollections of a blackout she appeared to endure within the occasion final yr. She ‘froze’ in the direction of the top of the race after gaining a robust lead.

In the meantime M. Abiram, who had been harping that he had run too many occasions in the previous few months, emerged because the championships’ quickest boy by taking the 100m title.

After Abiram had received the quartermile on Tuesday, his coach Ok. Surendran mentioned he would in all probability be skipping the 100m to present the teen some relaxation.

“That is my final State faculties meet, I needed profit from it that’s why I ran the 100m. That is my first 100m on the State faculties meet and it is a very particular gold,” mentioned Abiram.

Kasargod’s V. S. Anupriya, within the senior women shot, set the lone meet report of the day.

The outcomes (winners solely): Boys: Seniors: 100m: P. Abiram (Pkd) 11.10s. 400m hurdles: Rabeeh Ahmed (Mlp) 55.27s. Excessive soar: Mohammed Muhassin (Mlp) 1.96m. Javelin: P. Rahan (Mlp) 52.60m. 5km stroll: Abhidev Sathyan (Idk) 24:24.75s.

Juniors: 100m: Answaf Asharaf (Ekm) 11.15s. 400m hurdles: Mohammed Ashfaq (Tvm) 56.43s. Pole vault: Milan Sabu (Ktm) 3.60m. Hammer: Jones Dominic (Ekm) 48.92m.

Sub-juniors: 100m: Jahir Khan (Pkd) 12.08s. Shot put: N.S. Karthik (Wyd) 12.36m.

Women: Seniors: 100m: G. Thara (Pkd) 12.35s. 400m hurdles: M. Jyothika (Pkd) 1:02.11s. 3km stroll: Miya Rose (Ekm) 16:20.91s. Shot put: V.S. Anupriya (Ksd) 16.15m (MR, Ols: Megha M. Mathew, 14.91, 2018).

Juniors: 100m: Alphonsa Treesa (Ekm) 12.79s. 400m hurdles: P.T. Samredha (Koz) 1:06.98s. Lengthy soar: P.V. Anjali (Koz) 5.28m. Pole vault: Jeena Basil (Ekm) 3.20m. Discus: Henin Elizabeth (Ksd) 37.41m.

Sub-juniors: 100m: T.V. Devasree (Knr) 13.37s. Discus: Ameya Thomas (Alp) 23.22m.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles