Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Equal prize pots for wheelchair races at London Marathon

Each able-bodied and wheelchair races could have prize cash totalling $308,000

In a major and historic second for incapacity sport, the TCS London Marathon has change into the primary marathon on this planet the place prize cash for each wheelchair and able-bodied athletes will likely be precisely the identical.

The TCS London Marathon wheelchair races had been already the richest on this planet. Nonetheless, an additional improve of $54,500 to the prize cash in 2024 means the overall prize pot now stands at $308,000, creating parity with the able-bodied athletes.

Which means that all winners within the elite races of the 2024 TCS London Marathon on April 21 will obtain $55,000, with the runner-up incomes $30,000 and third-place $22,500.

Hugh Brasher, Occasion Director of the TCS London Marathon, stated: “We’re pleased with our historical past in championing contributors with disabilities, from introducing our first wheelchair race in 1983 to internet hosting the IPC World Championships on a number of events and offering a pathway from the Mini London Marathon to the London Marathon and past for Paralympic legends reminiscent of David Weir.

“We’re delighted to proceed our dedication to incapacity sport with this landmark transfer that ensures the prize cash obtainable to our elite wheelchair athletes is strictly the identical as for these within the able-bodied elite races. Now we have made nice strides in recent times in the direction of our ambition to make the TCS London Marathon probably the most numerous and equitable marathon on this planet and that is one other essential step in the direction of attaining that purpose.”

Hugh Brasher (Bob Martin)

The information has been described as an enormous second for equity and equality in incapacity sport by Exercise Alliance, the nationwide charity for disabled folks in sport and exercise.

Adam Blaze, Chief Government Officer at Exercise Alliance, stated: “Because the main voice for disabled folks in sport and exercise, we try for everybody to have honest entry to alternatives. To see the TCS London Marathon paved the way and create equal prize cash is a big optimistic step in making sports activities and bodily exercise fairer.

“For a few years now we have supported the wheelchair athletes’ race by means of our occasions group and watched many mini marathoners flip into elite superstars. We’re extraordinarily proud to have seen it become the very good competitors it’s in the present day.”

David Weir will likely be racing his twenty fifth consecutive London Marathon this yr after first showing within the Mini London Marathon races. He’s probably the most embellished athlete within the occasion’s historical past with a complete of eight wins and states London’s transfer to creating parity within the elite race prize pots is one thing he hopes different occasions can comply with.

Weir stated: “It’s a really thrilling yr for me and for wheelchair racing, once more London Marathon has set the bar for parity throughout the racing divisions. It is a enormous benchmark for incapacity sport and I hope different races and sporting our bodies can take observe.”

Weir will likely be racing the undisputed primary wheelchair racer on this planet on the 2024 TCS London Marathon within the form of Marcel Hug.

Marcel Hug breaks the course file (London Marathon)

Hug grew to become the primary ever man to win all six Abbott World Marathon Majors in a single season final yr and will likely be on the lookout for his fourth straight win in London.

Hug stated: “I’m so excited that the London Marathon is main by instance with equal prize cash and displaying they don’t seem to be simply speaking about equality but additionally demonstrating it.”

Different main names within the males’s wheelchair race are Daniel Romanchuk and Jetze Plat, the latter ending third in final November’s TCS New York Metropolis Marathon.

Within the girls’s discipline for the 2024 TCS London Marathon are the previous 4 winners of the occasion: Madison de Rozario, Catherine Debrunner, Manuela Schar and Nikita den Boer, in addition to Brit Eden Rainbow-Cooper.

Reigning champion De Rozario has welcomed the transfer to an equal prize fund, saying it has an impression far past sport.

Madison de Rozario at London Marathon in 2018 (Mark Shearman)

De Rozario stated: “We regularly say that sport is a mirror to society, nevertheless it may also be the start line for a lot bigger change and that’s what the TCS London Marathon is doing right here.

“This resolution doesn’t simply have an effect on the athletes lining up in London in April, it has an overflow impact to not simply how each different occasion values athletes with a incapacity, however how we view the 15 per cent of the worldwide inhabitants dwelling with incapacity.

“Sport has an unlimited duty to group and the TCS London Marathon is on the forefront of doing that justice. It’s setting a wholly new commonplace and I can’t wait to see what which means for para sport going ahead. Understanding {that a} era of wheelchair racers are going to get to come back right into a sport and by no means query their worth or their place is gorgeous.”

2024 TCS London Marathon elite males’s wheelchair discipline

Rafael Botello Jimenez (ESP)
Joshua Cassidy (CAN)
Evan Correll (USA)
Sean Body (GBR)
Kota Hokinoue (JPN)
Marcel Hug (SUI)
Jake Lappin (AUS)
Simon Lawson (GBR)
Jordi Madera Jimenez (ESP)
Ludwig Malter (AUT)
Michael McCabe (GBR)
Patrick Monahan (IRL)
Hiroki Nishida (JPN)
Aaron Pike (USA)
Jetze Plat (NED)
Daniel Romanchuk (USA)
Geert Schipper (NED)
James Senbeta (USA)
Brian Sieman (USA)
Johnboy Smith (GBR)
Tomoki Suzuki (JPN)
Sho Watanabe (JPN)
David Weir (GBR)

2024 elite girls’s wheelchair discipline

Noemi Alphonse (MRI)
Christie Dawes (AUS)
Madison de Rozario (AUS)
Vanessa Cristina de Souza (BRA)
Catherine Debrunner (SUI)
Nikita den Boer (NED)
Patricia Eachus (SUI)
Jenna  Fesemyer (USA)
Yen Hoang (USA)
Tsubasa Kina (JPN)
Tatyana McFadden (USA)
Merle Menje (GER)
Eden Rainbow-Cooper (GBR)
Aline Rocha (BRA)
Susannah Scaroni (USA)
Manuela Schar (SUI)
Wakako Tsuchida (JPN)
Michelle Wheeler (USA)

» Subscribe to AW journal right here

Subscribe to the AW Publication

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles